Matt Kahle (PI, Math), Mike Davis (co-PI, Math), Facundo Memoli (co-PI, joint appt Math/CSE), Tamal Dey (co-PI, CSE/courtesy appt Math), and Yusu Wang (co-PI, CSE) have been awarded a 5-year, $1.72 million Research Training Group grant from the National Science Foundation. Several other OSU faculty will also be involved as senior personnel. The grant is jointly funded by the Topology Program and the Workforce Program at the NSF Division of Mathematical Sciences. The Computational Mathematics Program, Combinatorics and Probability Programs, and CISE/CCF Division will also contribute to the award.

The grant will support research fellowships for graduate students, postdoc positions, and undergraduate research opportunities in algebraic topology and its applications.The abstract can be viewed here.

Students  supported by the grant include:

  • Andrew Newman (“Facets of Complexity” postdoctoral fellow at TU Berlin)
  • Kyle Parsons (Data Scientist at Root Insurance)
  • Alexander Borland (Lecturer, OSU Columbus)
  • Matthew Harper (current PhD student)
  • Jessica Zehel (US government)
  • Jacobson Blomquist (Riley Assistant Professor At Binghamton)
  • Christopher Kennedy (Data Scientist at Vertex Pharmaceuticals)
  • Katherine Ritchey (tenure-track assistant professor at University of Mount Union)
  • Niko Schonschek (current PhD student)
  • Michael Horst (current PhD student)
  • Alexander Elchesen (current PhD student at University of Florida, studying applied algebraic topology under the supervision of Peter Bubenik)
  • Paul Duncan (current PhD student)
  • Aniket Shah (current PhD student)
  • Duncan Clark (current PhD student)